About Me

“Stay faithful to the stories in your head.”

– Paula Hawkins, author of Into The Water.

Cas E. Crowe

Young Adult / New Adult Fantasy, Horror, Romantasy Author

Cas E. Crowe is an admirer of all things spooky, quirky, and witchy. She enjoys writing YA and NA dark fantasy, horror, and romantasy stories filled with magic and adventure. Cas lives in Brisbane, Australia and, when she is not reading or writing, is often daydreaming about her next story or creating art with Photoshop.

Add Cas’s books to your TBR (To Be Read) list on Goodreads.

Receive notifications about upcoming releases, preorder availability, new book launches, and limited-time discounts.

Follow to get new release updates and special offers exclusive to Amazon.

FAQ

On a level between one to five, how scary are your novels?

This is a difficult question to answer, as what frightens one reader will not necessarily scare another. The Wayward Haunt Series explores a dystopian society, oppression by a violent regime, and war, but the story as a whole is more of a dark fantasy rather than a horror. It does contain some gore, ghosts, hauntings, necromancy, and dark magic. I’d rate the scare factor at a two.

Wolvercraft Manor is a modern gothic horror novel designed to thrill and scare. There is a haunted house, a family with an ancestral curse, ghosts, a second-chance romance, and a séance. The story does not contain any explicit language, violence, or bodily gore. It focuses primarily on suspense and tension. I’d rate the scare factor at a four.

Are your books steamy/spicy?

YA Books

The Wayward Haunt Series is YA dark fantasy with a slow-burn romance, but as it is geared for a younger audience (15 – 18), it is clean (PG-rated). However, that does not mean kids big at heart cannot enjoy the novels in this series.

NA Books

Wolvercraft Manor and future standalone horror novels contain a subplot of romance but no spice.

For those readers who love romance with spice, my future NA Romantasy series The Moon Witch Saga, will involve slow-burn romance, pining, and falling in love, with some steamy scenes. These books are geared toward an older audience with characters aged between 18 – 29

What order should I read your books in?

The Wayward Haunt Series

  1. Book One – The Wayward Haunt
  2. Book Two – The Four Revenants
  3. Book Three – The Dark Divide
  4. Book Four – The Bone Grimoire (releases early 2024)

Wolvercraft Manor is a standalone novel. All future haunted house horror novels will be standalone and can be read in any order.

How can I tell if I will like your novels?

Again, this is a difficult question to answer, so I have listed below some popular novels that have the same feels/vibes.

The Wayward Haunt Series

Fans of Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone, Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games, Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass, J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments, and Richelle Mead’s The Vampire Academy series will enjoy The Wayward Haunt Series.

Wolvercraft Manor

Fans of Darcy Coates’s haunted house novels, Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s book Mexican Gothic, and Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca would enjoy Wolvercraft Manor.

What made you decide to be a writer/author?

Creativity and stories have always been a passion of mine since I can remember. Sadly, I struggled to read and write as a child and became a very shy and nervous kid because of it. It wasn’t until I received private tutoring that I made the connection that writing was really just another form of creativity. After that, I wanted to bring my own stories to life. It took many years to learn to write well and to gain the confidence to put my work out there, but I love it and would never turn back now. Hearing from readers and knowing that they enjoyed my books is the best feeling.

What formats do your books come in?

At present, The Wayward Haunt Series and Wolvercraft Manor are available as e-books in the Kindle Store and in Kindle Unlimited, and as paperback on all online book retailers.

Hardcover versions of The Wayward Haunt Series will be available soon.

How does your writing/publishing process work? What is the timeline?

Story Idea / World Building – 6 months to 1 year

Creating ideas and developing the world for my novels can take anywhere between six months to one year. Sometimes it’s longer, sometimes shorter. I often get my ideas when I listen to music (mainly film and game soundtracks), look at images on Pinterest, or daydream as I go on a run or a walk.

Plotting / Outline – 2 weeks to 1 month

I am a plotter, so I enjoy outlining my story. This can take anywhere from two weeks to a month. I break the scenes down in my book into chapters and use post-it notes on a corkboard to keep myself on track with my writing.

During this time, I decide on:

  • The main character’s emotional ARC during the story from chapter to chapter. What they want Vs. what they need.
  • The Three act structure (or maybe I should say six) – beginning, inciting incident, midpoint, second inciting incident, climax, ending/cliffhanger.

Draft – 4 to 6 months

I write the first draft of my story in about four to six months. I don’t worry about edits. At this stage, I’m focused on just getting the story out of my head and typing it into a computer.

Self-Editing Round One – 2 to 3 months

Developmental Edit

A few days or a week after completing my draft, I delve into developmental edits. This includes looking at the overall structure of the story.

  • Is the story arc logical?
  • Are there plot holes?
  • Is the viewpoint coherent?
  • Is the tense consistent?
  • Is the dialogue believable and clear?

Line Edit

After completing the developmental edit, I then focus on a line edit, which involves focusing on the flow, style, and readability of (you guessed it) each line. I also do grammar, spelling, and punctuation checks during this time.

Proofreading

Once the line edit is completed, I delve into proofreading, which involves reading my novel aloud from beginning to end. It’s amazing the mistakes you discover when you do this.

Beta Readers / Critique Partners – 1 month

I contact my team of beta readers first to see if they have the time and ability to read my novel and provide feedback. For those that respond with a yes, I ask them to look at the style of the writing, provide me with their thoughts or critiques, storyline/worldbuilding problems they see, any plot holes or inconsistencies they have found, and whether they feel the story resonates with the genre expectations. I usually give beta readers a month to read the novel and provide feedback.

Self-Editing Round Two – 1 to 2 months

Yes, that’s correct. I incorporate the feedback and do it all over again. Developmental Edits, a thorough line edit, and a final proofread.

Professional edits – 2 weeks to 1 month

This is where a professional editor comes in and completes a line edit and sentence re-writes where necessary, and reviews plot/character elements for consistency.

Formatting / Printing – 1 month

Once the manuscript is completed, it’s time for me to turn it into a correctly formatted e-book and paperback. I do this using Vellum. During this time, the final cover design is uploaded with the final versions of the manuscript to Amazon KDP and IngramSpark. Cover design often occurs during the writing and editing stage of the book.

Do you have a PR Package for your books?

I am in the process of organising a PR package for The Wayward Haunt Series, which will be available in 2024.

If you would like to get in touch with me regarding book promotion, please contact me using the button below.

Are you independently or traditionally published?

The Wayward Haunt Series is independently published.

Wolvercraft Manor is published by Tangled Tree Publishing.

Where can I buy signed copies of your books?

Signed copies of The Wayward Haunt Series will be available to purchase from my online store, coming in February 2024.

Do you have a question I haven’t answered? 

"A book is a dream you hold in your hand."

- Neil Gaiman

Be in the loop first for news and events.